22 dachshunds in Dawsonville? 30? 6?

Earlier this week, a plea went out on Craigslist from a tiny shelter in Dawsonville.  They were getting 22 dachshunds and needed help.

Of course, we called.

The situation was grim.  A mountain family had a few dachshunds, and just let them breed indiscriminately.  They were selling some of the puppies, but they now found themselves with 30 dachshunds, most malnourished.  It seems their diet was apples that had fallen from the trees.  Animal control took 8.  Two were in seriously bad shape.  Another was pregnant.

I’m not clear on whether the dogs were seized, or if animal control was just talking the people out of the dogs, but I talked to the shelter every day to let them know I was coming up on Thursday to get whatever dachshunds they had.  They said they’d have 22.  They thought there were 30 in all, but they didn’t think they could get all of them.

And then I got on the phone and started burning up the internet.  I rented a van and coordinated borrowing enough crates.  AADR and DRNA offered to take some, and we got that organized.  I found vet appointments and short-term boarding for all 22 dogs, at various places.  The DREAM foster homes mobilized, and offered to take extra dogs in the short term until we got everyone sorted out. I found a friend who could ride up there with me so I wouldn’t be on my own.

Man, I was proud because all of that was no small feat.  A small army of people were out there, poised for my “deliveries” Thursday night.

Last night I called the shelter for a final check-in and to get a final count.  When I told them I was coming, they said great!  we have 4 males and 2 females.

HUH???  Math has never been my strong suit, but I know that 4 + 2 = 6.

So, it seems that animal control has not followed up.  Apparently severe malnutrition, lack of shelter, breeding without a license is not enough reason to go get the rest of those dogs.  And it is getting cold.  And they are making more puppies, who will be born in the cold. (Keep in mind, animal control in this county is run by the sherriff’s office, and the shelter is privately run).

I am driving up there today, and hope to get them to save the rest of those dogs, as I pick up whatever dachshunds are there.  I hope the Georgia Department of Agriculture will get involved, for the non-licensed breeding, as well as the animal control, for the mistreatment (these are completely separate entities, and both are separate from the humane society itself).

This particular county is organized rather differently than others I’ve worked with, and I don’t quite understand it, but it seems that animal control (government – under the sherriff) operates separately from the shelter (private).  I hope to learn more about that today.

If you have any connections to Dawsonville, or the Department of Agriculture, I hope you’ll ask them to seize the rest of those dogs.  I think they just don’t want the confrontation, which is understandable.  I’ve helped other counties with this kind of seizure, and it isn’t fun.  But I’d do it again in a heartbeat, because there is no feeling in the world like riding home in a victorious chariot FULL of stinky dachshunds, who have no idea what just happened, and are all scared.  They have no way of knowing that the misery is over, and that all they have in front of them is a life of love, food, and warm blankets, instead of commerce, rotten apples, and the cold ground.  But we know.  We know.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. dreamdachshundrescue
    Nov 14, 2008 @ 03:53:20

    Update: The Dawson County Humane Society very graciously turned over 4 dachshunds to us. They have a great operation of very caring people, and provide more vet care to the dogs they have than most shelters do. Of the 8 that were impounded, they found homes for 3, and put one (pregnant) into foster care.
    The remaining dogs are still out there, and we hope that the animal control branch of Dawson County (run by the Sherriff’s office) will go to seize those dogs. Although this county does not have any limits on the number of dogs that can be kept on the property, it seems clear that these dogs were neglected. One of the dogs I brought home is in the care of the emergency vet now. The rest await their vet care in the morning. One dog may even have died on the property when she went into heat and the other dogs killed her. And they are in violation of the Georgia Department of Agriculture’s licensing requirements for anyone breeding more than 2 litters in a year.
    It is cold tonight in North Georgia.

    Reply

  2. Rita Hubbard
    Nov 14, 2008 @ 13:33:23

    I read your blog this morning and have passed it on to my aunt who works for the Dawson County Clerk of Courts. I have asked her to pass it on to anyone who may be able to help. It’s not much but I hope that it helps in some small way.

    Reply

  3. Roxanne
    Nov 25, 2008 @ 20:05:20

    Please give us an update on what the status is on these precious souls.
    Thank you.

    Reply

  4. Tina
    Aug 04, 2009 @ 16:55:35

    A friend of mine ended up adopting one of these dogs. She was a short, smooth hair dapple named Maggie. Ican assure you that dog is treated like a princess and has the best care. A few months ago I had to put my lab mix down and my husband thought he would suprise me with a puppy. I wasn’t too happy as I would rather rescue a dog than buy one. The thing that angers me is my puppy has problems with his mouth from bad breeding and I need to know what I can do to stop this backyard breeder. My husband said they had close to 30 dogs running around. What can I do to help stop these people? What makes it worse is the lady told my husband she “rescued” these dogs from a puppy mill!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

